Christian Denominations 2024

Nature of Christ Blog 25

Ecumenical Councils concerning Nature of Christ

Blog 25

The first three Economical Councils dealt with the first three heresies and refused all of these deviations.

The Council of Nicaea (325 CE) condemned Arius and confirmed that the Father and the Son are indeed eternal and have the same essence. That Council also published the first component of the Nicene creed.

The Council of Constantinople (381 CE) excommunicated Apollinarius and Macedonius and confirmed that the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit are eternal and have the same essence. It also insured that Jesus is perfect in His humanity. This Council published the second part of the Nicene-Constantinopolitan Creed.

The Council of Ephesus (431 CE) was convened by Emperor Theodosius II and Valentinian III. It confirmed the teachings of St. Cyril of Alexandria that God was humbled and incarnated for our salvation. The Council also condemned the teachings of Nestorius of Constantinople which separated Christ to two different persons and affirmed the title for St. Mary as the mother of God.

Two Councils that not accepted by non-Chalcedonians
The Council of Chalcedon (451 CE) was convened by Emperor Marcian. This council caused the schisms between the catholic churches and the sixteen Eastern churches from the six oriental churches.

The Council of Constantinople II (553 CE) was convoked by the Byzantine Emperor Justinian I against the Three Chapters, the writings of Theodore of Mopsuestia, certain writings of Theodoret of Cyrus (who wrote against the twelve Anathemas of St. Cyril of Alexandria), and the letter of Ibas of Edessa to Maris.